Situación de los miembros Flickr Pro

Me tranquiliza saber que no tendré que buscar donde alojar mis fotos luego de los cambios que sufrió Flickr en esta semana. Luego de los anuncios de que ya no seguirían ofreciendo las cuentas Flickr Pro y que pasaban a un modelo de 1TB con ads y uno de US$49.99 al año de también 1TB sin ads, quede un poco decepcionado porque una de las cosas que me gustaban del modelo anterior era su carácter ilimitado en espacio y claro que su valor anual de US$24.95. Luego de las primeras noticias al respecto, no quedaba claro si al terminar mi suscripción tendría que pasarme a uno de los nuevos modelos de precios, pero acabo de leer que no es así y los miembros Flickr Pro podremos seguir renovando este modelo. Reproduzco acá el texto que aparece en las ayudas de Flickr

As of May 20, 2013, we are no longer offering Flickr Pro subscriptions to the majority of our members. Some things to be aware of (with more details below):

  • Recurring Pro members currently have the ability to continue renewing at the same price.
  • Eligible Pro members can get a prorated refund for a limited time.
  • Eligible non-recurring Pro members can purchase a recurring Pro subscription.
  • The “Gift of Pro” will no longer be available for purchase.
  • Pro users will no longer appear with a “Pro” badge beside their name or buddy icon

Your Pro pricing remains the same and your benefits have improved:

  • Those who remain Pro will retain all their original benefits.
  • The photo and video size limits will be upgraded to those offered with our new free account.
  • If you are on a recurring Pro subscription, your payments will remain as is. To see what your current subscription costs, see the previous payment on in your order history.
  • Pro members will never be automatically transitioned to an Ad Free or Doublr subscription.

If you’d like to switch to a free account:

  • Eligible Pro members who switch to a free account by August 20, 2013 can receive aprorated refund on their purchase and will lose their Pro benefits immediately.
  • Pro members who cancel Pro after August 20, 2013 will retain Pro benefits until their subscription expiration date.

If you’d like to keep your Pro membership:

  • Anyone who was Pro at 12:00 am (midnight) GMT on May 20, 2013, may be eligible to sign up for recurring Pro in order to extend their Pro membership beyond its expiration date.
  • This applies to:
    • those whose one-time or gift Pro memberships expired after 12:00 am GMT.
    • those who are on a gifted Pro account.
    • those who have purchased one-off Pro and are set to expire in the future.
  • To keep your Pro status by signing up for a recurring Pro subscription, visit theaccount order page.
  • If you cancel your recurring subscription or opt for the prorated refund, you will no longer have the option to sign up for a recurring subscription.
  • If your recurring subscription expires after May 20, 2013, due to a failed payment, please contact the billing team.

How to tell whether you are on a recurring payment plan:

  • Visit your account details page and look at “Your Flickr account”.
  • You are on a one-off or gift subscription if it says “It expires on [date].”
  • You are on a recurring subscription if it says “It will renew on [date].”
  • If your account has already expired you will not see a related date.

Esto me da un poco de tiempo para analizar para donde va Yahoo con Flickr y ver si decido mantenerlo o buscar un reemplazo para este servicio.